liFe

Messy

I am a messy person.

Just as my roommate of seventeen years. I distinctly remember dragging my heels to clean my room as a young child, but it’s not the same being an adult. Sometimes I have to straighten room, it gets out of hand. Even if it is at midnight!
Life lately has felt like those piles of clothes on my bedroom floor, MESSY. I am the type of person, who wants to fix my own problems, clean up my own messes (NOW!)
However it took me an hour and a half of tears to realize I could straighten this mess alone. I needed help. I needed God’s help straighten my life. I was reminded of Jeremiah 29:13,
“ If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”
If I only stopped trying to fix it and asked God all of this pain could have been avoided. If you seek God out, He will help you straighten your life out. No matter how big we think our mess is God is bigger and loves to organize mess. God is a god of order not disorder.
“33 For God is not a God of disorder but of peace, as in all the meetings of God’s holy people.”
– 1 Corinthians 14:33
God loves to organize and straighten out the confusing parts of our lives. For the past couple weeks that, in all honesty have turned into a couple months, I have been on a road of healing/forgiveness/coming to terms with pain and it hasn’t been easy or fun. But nothing worthwhile comes easy, right?
That night, I realized I need to stop trying to fix EVERYTHING and let go of the broken and give to God.
In my quiet time this morning, I asked God to come into the middle of my mess and have his way in that. After my Jesus time this morning, I felt more alive in Him than I have in months. Healing is a process and it is a process possible for you. It is possible to feel whole again, to not hurt every time you see that person.
If you are on that road of healing/forgiveness/coming to terms with pain, I feel you. I am walking that path with you and want to encourage you in that.
Coming to terms with pain is a journey, but God will guide you. All you need to do is ask Him!
Healing is a process, but a worthy process.
Forgiveness is a path paved with tears, but hold on to the One who holds your tears, He’s got you!!

Love and Hugs!

P.S.
That roommate was/is my sister! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

