Breaking Through the Armor

 

For years, I lived by the belief that I needed to be strong for my family. That crying was a sign of weakness, so I didn’t.   I bottled up all my emotions behind a suit of armor. My armor was so strong no one ever saw through it. No one knew I as really breaking inside. No one knew my pain. No one knew what emotions were inside, because I never let them out. Whenever I felt emotion rise to the surface, I would push them back behind my suit of armor. I lived that way for years, before I realized there was no shame in the tears I cried. My Heavenly Father doesn’t see crying as a sign of weakness, but a sign of worship. When we can’t find the words to say, tears speak on our behalf.

My grandmother told me that,

‘Girls don’t need a reason to cry.’

That is such wise advice I wish I took heed to it when Memaw shared it with me, but now I live by that.  My rule #2: Cry when you need to, is something I have got to work at.

Yesterday, I was feeling the need to cry, so I watched my favorite chick flick, 27 Dress, to cry. However, I spent so long pushing my emotions down that, I literally couldn’t cry. Okay, I did shed one tear, but that doesn’t count.

Last night, my suit of armor fell away. The light broke through. At Wesley, I cried for an hour, I think the last time I cried like that was 2 months ago. Sometimes we just need to cry and yesterday that was exactly what I needed. A cry to refresh my thinking and my heart.

Crying is not a sign of weakness; it is a sign that you’re human. It’s a sign that we can’t take the pressures of life and need Jesus. When we can’t find the words to say, we can literally cry out to Jesus.

“Here on earth, you will have trial and sorrows. But take heart I have overcome the world.”  -Jesus, John 16:33

This world is hard. We face trial, struggle and change every day, but take comfort in Jesus’ words. He has overcome every trial, struggle or change we may face.

So grab some tissues and have yourself a good cry; sometimes that’s all we need to see things clearer.

Leave a Reply

