Uncategorized

Dealing with Depression

I have dealt with depression for years. I know what it feels like to want to end it all. i know what its like to be going through the motions. i know what it feels like to not have a purpose. Depression is a dark emotion and I have found comfort in knowing I’m not the only person dealing with depression. it’s a common illness. I think every one deals with a certain degree of depression. After years of dealing with the beast of depression, I have now remembered what it feels like and have come up with ways to counteract the depression. And I would like to share my ways for dealing with depression. I hope you find comfort in these and remember you are not the only one going through depression.

1. Surround yourself with joyful people and tell one of those joyful people.
I think that is one of the biggest tips I could give you. The people you surround yourself with influence your mood. if you are around sad people you will be sad all the time, but if you have people around you, who are genuinely happy; you will be happy too. 🙂
2. Keep a regular quiet time with God.
If you need help overcoming something, God will
help you. i am a firm believer in the power of prayer; with it lives can be saved, paths made straight and people changed. if you need help with your depression, lay it at God’s feet and he will change you.
1 Peter 5:7 says, “Cast all your anxieties on Him because He cares for you.”
That verse doesn’t say ‘cast only the anxieties you think he will care about.’ No, it says cast ALL your anxieties on him because He cares for you. He cares about your depression. if you give your problems to God, he will fix them.
3. Keep going to church.
I know some days, we don’t feel like getting out of bed. But I’ll tell you, you’ll never overcome your depression if you sit at home alone. You will only be more depressed. I believe when we are worshiping with other believers, it helps make us feel loved, cherished, and valuable.
4. Count your blessing.
Like the song says Count your Blessings instead of sheep. I have a Blessing Jar that I keep a record of the people that are blessings in my life. When I’m depressed, I will look back through my blessings and realize how much I do have.

Leave a Reply

