Uncategorized

BE STILL

I remember that exact moment, it was this past March at my senior 4-H competition, my nerves and anxiety levels were going through the roof. I knew if I didn’t make it this time my 4-H career wouldn’t end the way I wanted it to. I was so nervous. I remember all of the sudden a sense of peace washed over me and a whisper said in the nervous places of my heart, “Be still and know I am God.” In that moment God was telling me, ‘Hey, I got this don’t worry.’ I said, ‘Okay God’ and delivered my speech. I didn’t get the scores I wanted, but I knew God was gonna use that experience to teach me.

He has taught me in the seven months that have followed, to slow down, to be still and bask in His presence.

I used to think it would be exciting to have a full week of activities, then it happened and wasn’t exciting anymore.  I was constantly moving, from dance classes to Dairy Quiz Bowl practices to babysitting to church plus schoolwork. It lost its appeal. That time taught me that it is crucial to our lives, spiritually, mentally, emotionally, and physically, to STOP BREATHE and RELAX. It does no good to get stressed out and worry about getting to the next activity.

I think we can all get caught up in the activities of this world and forget to BE STILL. . Being still is something we don’t do today, we are constantly on the move. On to bigger and better things. Let me tell ya a secret, you won’t get to anything better if you don’t BE STILL in God’s presence.

When was the last time you were still in God’s presence?

Saved by Grace,

MaryHannah

Leave a Reply

