Uncategorized

The Power of Prayer

I believe in the power of prayer. It can change lives, make straight paths, and move mountains. I remember the first time I prayed for something to happen and when i said “Amen” it did!! it was Sunday afternoon, I guess we talked about prayer in Sunday School and I wanted to know if it worked. So, I got down on my knees. and said something like,’ If prayer really works God, can you make it rain.’ After I said Amen, I heard a roar of thunder. I left my room feeling so proud of myself and knew prayer really does work. It wasn’t until years later that I realized the power prayer has in my life.

Being diagnosed with Lingerhan Cell Histiocytosis, at the age of 17 months, prayer was always active in my life. Whenever I had a blood test, a day in the hospital, or a visit to the Emergency Room, I had a prayer team working overtime for me. The names are too numerous to count, but the prayers are felt on this end. Each member of my prayer team is so special to me and I thank them for praying for me. The prayers allowed me to never stay more than a night in the hospital and the blood draws a little less painful.

That power plays a part in my life today as well. I have had hands laid on me a ton of times and been anointed with oils. All those problems have been fixed in God’s timing, not like the rain, but God did answer those prayers. When people lay hands on me and say a blessing over me, my emotions go wild. Once I start crying, its hard to stop those tears when they decide they should make an appearance. I experienced those tears when I went up to be prayed for at a collegiate service. I haven’t made a trip to the altar without tears; but after that trip up to the altar and the tears stop it’s like a giant weight has been lifted off my shoulders, those problems are in God’s hands now.

The other day a friend told me, “It’s just the Holy Spirit working through you.” Now I let my tears fall freely like the rain.

That power is free for the taking, all you have to ask.

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.”~Colossians 4:2

God bless you and keep you,

Mary Hannah

Leave a Reply

