Gifts

Land of the Free

As an American, I am very fortunate. Fortunate that I don’t have to hide the fact that I am Christian or be afraid some one is going to take my Bible away.
I have not realized how privileged I am to live in this free land called, America until I got the news about the beheadings of Christians in Iraq.
I was watching an NCIS, the episode is titled ‘Damned If I Do’, where the case the team is investigating is about a Navy Seal,who was beheaded. It was right at the scene where the medical examiner and his assistant were autopsying the head, I got the text about the beheadings in Iraq. Maybe it was how the NCIS and text were related or knowing that if I lived in Iraq I would be prosecuted; it made me cry. I started praying out loud. One of my first thoughts was at least it’s not me. It is selfish, I have to admit,but it made me realize how fortunate I am to live in America. I have not grasped the privilege we have in this county until now.
In the first amendment to the U. S Constitution,
“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof…”
It is saying Congress cannot forbid us from worshipping God whichever way we choose. Whether that is standing on the street and reading your Bible out loud or putting your faith into action at the local soup kitchen.
That right is being fought for by the many men an women in the U. S armed forces overseas. I am grateful to each and every person that protects this land we call America.
Because of you I can go to sleep without worrying that I might be forced out of my house.
Because of you I do not have be afraid someone is going to take my Bible away.
Because of you I can publicly pronounce that Jesus Christ is my Savior and Redeemer.
And for that I am thankful.
May we never forget the privilege we have in America.

In His Love,
MaryHannah

Leave a Reply

