Uncategorized

Blessings Jar

On my bedroom dresser, I have a jar filled with pieces of paper. The pieces of paper represent people or things that have blessed my life. I call this my Blessing Jar. The other night I was looking through this jar, reading the names of friends and acquaintances who are blessings, and found three important blessings in my life.

Once I unfolded one of the pieces of paper I found the word “Prayer”, a smile tugged at my lips as I remembered the impact prayer has had on my life. Prayer has blessed my life in so many ways, it’s unimaginable. One big way is my prayer team.

The number of people is too great to count, but whatever the number they have covered me in prayer for years.

They covered me when I was on the operating table at 18 months old.

When I was diagnosed with Growth Hormone Deficiency and had to have nightly Growth Hormone Injections. And every time I go to the doctor, I know they have my back.

Prayer has been a part of my life since the beginning. I don’t know if I would without it!! I could have not made it through that operation and those nightly shots without it.

The next blessing I found in the jar, said, “Family”.

My family is one of a kind. I’m pretty sure you won’t be able to find another family like mine. We are closer knit than other families; through the year’s we have rallied together to support each other. One of our favorite things to do as a family is to go camping. When I say camping I don’t mean luxury camping. Luxury camping is when you roll your RV in, that is complete with A/C and TV. No, we go tent camping! We you pitch our 8 man tent, sleep on the ground and cook over a campfire. We haven’t done it in a while, but it is one of my fondest memories!! My family members, near and far, are some of my best friends. I truly love every member deeply!!!

I was surprised when I opened the final blessing. I was surprised that it was last. When I put blessings in the jar, there is no order in how I will pull it out. But I saved the best for last.

It read “Jesus Christ”

Where would I be without Jesus??

I really don’t want to think about it. Jesus has been the greatest gift of my entire life. My entire being is here because of Him!! I am who I am today, because of Jesus!! There is no way around that!! My absolute favorite verse is Hebrew 12:2 that says,

“Look to Jesus the pioneer and perfecter of our faith, who for the sake of the joy that was set before him endured the cross, disregarding its shame, and has taken his seat at the right hand of the throne of God.”

That verse says a lot. A lot about the society we live in today. It says that we need to only look at Jesus and do not let things, material things, get in our way. Things like, magazines, wars, TV advertisements, or politics. Only look to Jesus!!

 

Leave a Reply

