Uncategorized

Being content with Apple Juice

My cousin and I are pen pals. Pen pal is a foreign term in today’s time, I will explain. Pen pals send letters through the mail to each other usually pen pals are people, who live a distance away from one another. My cousin and I live 2 hours away from each other. Yes, we could call each other, but calling long distance for 2 hours a week would not make our fathers happy. Therefore we are pen pals. In our letters, we ask each other questions; the last letter I got from her, she asked me a question I would like to share, ‘What has the Lord been teaching you?’ it did not take me long to come up with an answer.

Philippians 4:11 says, (NRSV) “Not that I am referring to being in need; I have learned to be content with whatever I have.” I can remember a time when I had to learn to be content with what I had. I was in the kitchen and I asked Mom, ‘Can I have more Apple Juice?’ over and over again. After about 6 times she said,  ‘You ask again and the answer is no!’. She was teaching to be content, but at the time I just wanted more Apple Juice.  ‘Content’ was not in my vocabulary. God has been teaching me to be content with His timing. I will admit His timing does not go along with my plan. Growing up when I would do something for my grandfather, he would say, “I’ll dance at your wedding.” For years I had thing image of me on the dance floor in a wedding dress with my grandfather in a wheelchair right next to me. For years I had this “dream”, when he passed away I do remember thinking, ‘He won’t be here to dance at my wedding.’ and sobbing. But that’s not the point, the point is that our plan and God’s plan are different. We see things happening as we want them to, but that is not how they seem to happen. A verse in the Bible that talks about His timing is, Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, I suggest giving it a read.

I am going to work on being content with God’s timing in all aspect of my life and not focusing on jumping in to just “be happy”.

You know the story I told earlier in this blog post, yeah know I HATE Apple Juice!!! Be content with just a little bit and wait for God’s timing.

 

Leave a Reply

