Uncategorized

Running with Jesus

I accepted Jesus Christ when I was 7, I think. I can remember the exact night. It was a Wednesday night gathering at my church home. The leader asked for whomever wanted to invite Jesus in their heart to say a prayer. If you grew up in church you know the kind prayer I am talking about. One that goes something like, “Dear Jesus, I’m sorry for my sins. Please come into my heart. In Jesus Name, Amen.”
Looking back in hindsight, I think I was kind of pressured into it; like one of my friends were saying it so I thought I should too. But since then I have only dabbled in the whole Christianity thing. I’ve made mistakes and have regrets. I lived like that for the last 11 years or so. Making mistakes then running back to the arms of Christ for forgiveness. Then I heard of the great opportunity of The Mix.
I was privileged and blessed beyond measure to attend a spiritual pep rally called the Mix. It was indescribable, awesome, powerful, moving and any other adjective you would use to describe an event that changed your life. The worship was one of my parts the rally, Casey Darnell led us in song about “letting God’s light shine” in and through us. Our speaker for the weekend, Nick Person, used Scripture references from the first three chapters of Colossians. The talks were deep, but much needed. On Friday night, Nick’s talk revolved around Colossians 1 and something stuck out to me that I would like to share.
“Jesus changed everything about me.”
“Jesus is a big deal.”
“Everything happens because of Jesus.”
“Jesus is holding everything to together.”
“If death couldn’t hold Jesus, I’m following him.”
“He gave His life to save yours.”
“Surrender to Him.”
After those were said Nick started a prayer that we could repeat if we wanted to surrender our hearts to Jesus. This prayer was different than the one I stated earlier. I can’t remember exactly what he said, but one phrase has been frozen in my mind since I heard it,
“I’m not perfect.”
It took eleven years of mistakes and regrets for that to make sense. Nothing we can do can make us earn the rank of “PERFECT”. When Nick invited people to repeat this prayer after him, I am proud to say I was in that number. There was an unrelenting thumping on my heart; like someone knocking on a door. Maybe it was Jesus knocking on the door of my soul and I let him in. This life is too hard to travel on my own.
As of January 24, 2014, I am team Jesus. Running the race with Him.

God bless,

MH

Leave a Reply

