Uncategorized

Everything Happens for a Reason

I woke up that Thursday and all I knew is I would be going to co-op. For those of you who have no idea what a co-op is, I will explain. A co-op is a place homeschoolers can go to get a taste of public school, I went once a week on Thursdays. On this peculiar Thursday, I woke up and didn’t know later on that day I would be examined by an Emergency Medical Technician.

After co-op, my younger brother and I would be picked up by our friend’s, who also attended the co-op, mom. Upon entering the car, she told me she had bronchitis and a nap. Well, I could use a nap as well. She taking us home via a road that is not evenly paved and has some sharp curves in it. I guess I dozed off because I woke up to the bump-bump of the car running off the road. I remember seeing a tree on the side of the road and praying we wouldn’t hit it.  Then what happened seems like a blur now, we overcorrected and flipped over in the car three times. I recall turning over and thinking, ‘If we land upside down, how they (EMTs) will get us all out.’ There were 6 of us in the car; the three of us she picked up from co-op, her two younger son, who were asleep in the back seat.

When the car stop rolling over and landed right-side up, I looked over at the Mom and I saw fear in her eyes. I remember feeling like I didn’t really know what happened but by the look on her face I knew it was bad. I turn around and in the back seat I saw the little boys screaming/crying.

There is a point to my little rant. The point is everything happens for a reason. Since the death of Memaw, I have adopted the motto, ‘Everything Happens for a Reason’. There is a reason we were born, a reason we die, a reason why we make all those stupid mistakes, and there was a reason why we didn’t land upside down in the car. We don’t always understand why it happens, but God had a reason for it happening.  When something doesn’t go my way, I think, ‘It happened for a reason.’ We are all here for some reason; some of us may know the reason we are here and others are still trying to figure it out.

When we got out of the car, we walked to a nearby home to call for help.  When the Dad of the kids came, we went back to survey the damage. The windshield was all cracked and rolled back, (it actually looked kind of cool!) all the windows in the car we broken out, (accept one) and there was horse feed all in the car and on the road (before picking us up she went to get horse feed!). The most serious injury of the accident, was the moms arm had a gash on it. During our tumbling, her window was smashed and she gashed her arm on the road. I was hit on the top of my head with the fold down mirror on the passenger seat.

There is a reason, I am still here, 5 years later, to tell of my “Best Roller Coaster Ride!!”

Leave a Reply

