Uncategorized

Spirits of children

The spirits of children can change like the weather; one minute it can be sunshine and rainbows and the next it can be rainy with a chance of thunder. I spent this last weekend with 3 kids all under the age of 5 years old,and have had my share of those moments. Children’s spirits can change in the blink of an eye. But their spirits can be so precious and cute, “Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (Matthew 19:14 NIV)
Years ago, my youth group went on a mission trip to North Carolina. On the night that they told the congregation of their adventures, I was sitting with one of my friends, Clara, who was about 6 at the time. I will never forget this, what Clara said after they’re slideshow,” I’m going on the next mission trip, I want to help. ” that touched my heart in so many I didn’t know just how many ’til I got home that night. All Clara wanted to do was help. In Matthew 19:14, Jesus tells us to be like children for the kingdom of heaven belong to such as these. He wasn’t telling us to start dressing or acting like children, but inherit their spirit. The innocent spirit that they have is something we need to acquire.

Leave a Reply

